Student Salon 2019

  • Monday, March 25, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Tuesday, March 26, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Wednesday, March 27, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Thursday, March 28, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Monday, April 1, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Tuesday, April 2, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Wednesday, April 3, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Thursday, April 4, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Monday, April 8, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Tuesday, April 9, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Wednesday, April 10, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Thursday, April 11, 2019
    11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Library and Learning Center
    Third floor
    645 East Seventh Street, Saint Paul

    Library and Learning Center

    Information about Metropolitan State University's Library and Learning Center location.
A painting of a young white woman. She is looking up and to her left with a tranquil look on her face. The background is undulating translucent teal paint over newsprint.

Art by Emily Flynn

From sculptural paper objects to self-portraits, the 2019 Student Salon surveys the diverse form and content explored in class and beyond. The annual exhibit at Metropolitan State University’s Gordon Parks Gallery features multimedia works produced by undergraduate students. Visual artists include:

  • Dawn Cramer, Minneapolis
  • Jazzy Erickson, Maplewood
  • Emily Flynn, Savage
  • Danielle Hagberg, Champlin
  • Kate Harker, Plymouth
  • Rebecca Peterson, Eagan
  • Hannah Ross, Hudson, Wis.
  • Trevor Slattery, Maple Grove
  • Sumaya Yusuf, Saint Paul

“This year’s exhibition features work produced by seven studio arts majors and two arts-focused College of Individualized Studies majors," says Gallery Director Erica Rasmussen. “Some of the work was created in the classroom as part of standard assignments. Other pieces were executed beyond the university as part of the students’ individual interests. Whatever the inspiration, it’s a pleasure for me to share the culmination of their artistic pursuits with the university community.”

The exhibit opens with a reception from 6 to 8 p.m. Thursday, March 21, and will include an Ekphrastic Poetry Reading by Metropolitan State’s creative writing students. The 2019 Student Salon will continue through April 11. Gordon Parks Gallery is located on the third floor of the Library and Learning Center. For more information about the exhibit, contact Erica Rasmussen by email or by phone at 651-999-5942.