Fulbright Scholars programs

Metropolitan State University has a rich history of Fulbright Scholars. In fact, Metropolitan State is one of 2013's Fulbright Program "top producers." (Oct. 28 edition of The Chronicle of Higher Education)

The Fulbright Scholar Program is a program of the United States Department State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Fulbright provides many grant opportunities for researchers, lecturers and administrators.

The core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program provides approximately 800 teaching and/or research grants to U.S. faculty and experienced professionals in a wide variety of academic and professional fields. Grants are available in over 125 countries worldwide.

The Metropolitan State University Center for Faculty Development offers Fulbright Faculty Workshops. Contact Maythee Kantar at for more information.

Metropolitan State also has a team of former Fulbright Scholarship awardees, who are designated campus representatives and contacts. They are available to answer questions and offer information about the Scholarship and the application process.

Metropolitan State University Fulbright Scholar Award Winners

  • 2017-2018: Kathleen Lafferty, Management/COM, Latvia (Faculty)
  • 2015-2016: Matthew Filner, Social Sciences, Japan
  • 2015-2016: Brahma Dathan, ICS/CAS, Romania
  • 2014-2015: Rosa Fagundes, Education-CPS, Bangladesh (Faculty)
  • 2013-2014: Doug Rossinow, History-CAS, Norway (Faculty)
  • 2013-2014: Cindy Kaus, Math-CAS, Mauritius (Faculty)
  • 2013-2014: Craig Calcaterra, Math-CAS, Italy (Faculty)
  • 2012-2013: Sanna Nimtz Towns, CWA/CAS, Qatar (Faculty)
  • 2009-2010: Lorene Wedeking, Nursing-CNHS, Hungary (Faculty)
  • 2004-2005: Samad Mortabit, Math-CAS, Morocco (Faculty)
  • 2003-2008: Craig Hansen, CWA/CAS, Five Year Senior Fulbright Specialist Program List
  • 2003-2004: Mensah Adinkrah, Criminal Justice-CPS, Ghana (Faculty)
  • 2002-2003: Sue Fitzgerald, ICS/CAS, Barbados (Faculty)
  • 1995: Nancy Cole, Media/CAS, Spain (Professional Journalist Program)
  • Oct. 1994-June 1995: Patricia Gregory, Writing/CAS, Malaysia (Faculty)
  • 1993-1994: Debbi Ricci, Communication/CAS, Canada (Graduate Student Program)
  • 1992-93: Phil Anderson, Media/CAS, Norway (Faculty)
  • Oct. 1992-Dec. 1992: Nancy J. Johnson, ICS/COM, Malaysia (Faculty)
  • Sept. 1992-June 1995 (Three year appointment): Dorothy Marcic, Management/COM, Czech and Slovak Federal Republic (Faculty Program)
  • 1991: Donald Hones, Social Science/CAS, Ecuador (IIE Program)
  • Jan. 1990-Jan. 1991: Martin Daniel, Media/CAS, Czechoslovakia (Faculty)