May 1: Metropolitan State spring commencement

By Robert Boos
Posted April 21, 2017

May 1: Metropolitan State spring commencement

Metropolitan State University celebrates its 100th commencement exercise Monday, May 1. The student speaker is Bukola Oriola, College of Individualized Studies Outstanding Student, graduating with her bachelor’s degree in individualized studies with focus on community leadership and diversity.

Bukola Oriola

Bukola Oriola will be the student speaker at the Spring 2017 commencement exercise.

The ceremony is in the Roy Wilkins Auditorium at Saint Paul RiverCentre. Approximately 1,100 students are receiving bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees with 761 students expected to participate in the spring ceremony.

In 2016, Oriola was appointed to a two-year term on the U.S. Advisory Council on Human Trafficking. In that year, she traveled to Washington, D.C. to attended an inaugural meeting of the council with then-U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry. Oriola is a Twin Cities activist and leader against human trafficking.

Also on May 1 is a pinning ceremony for  inaugural cohort of the Minnesota Alliance for Nursing Education at Metropolitan State. This pinning ceremony recognizes the hard work and sacrifice that each student has put into the nursing program in their journey to becoming a registered nurse and welcoming them into the nursing profession. The pinning ceremony will be at 1 p.m. in Founder’s Hall followed by a reception in the Great Hall, New Main.

There is a separate ceremony for the university’s doctoral candidates, Doctor of Business Administration and Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) on Saturday, April 22 in the university’s auditorium at the Saint Paul Campus. Nineteen students will be awarded doctoral degrees. The student speaker will be Rachel Lundbohm, who has earned her Doctor of Business Administration degree.

Other commencement participants include: Metropolitan State President Virginia “Ginny Arthur, JD, Carol Boorman Young, interim provost and academic vice president; Michael Vekich, chair of the Minnesota States Board of Trustees; Tené Wells, president Metropolitan State University Alumni Board; Dr. August Hoffman, Inter Faculty Organization president; and Dhibo Hussein, Student Senate president.

Commencement will be live streamed starting at 6:50 p.m.