Rev 3/2018

## Metropolitan State University Alumni of the Year 2018

The Alumni of the Year award recognizes a graduate who has exhibited exceptional volunteer or career leadership and personal character. Nominees must be a Metropolitan State graduate. If you would like to nominate a graduate to be considered in 2018, please fill out this form. The deadline for nominations is May 31, 2018.

### **Nomination/selection policy:**

Metropolitan State graduates, staff and faculty or members of the community may nominate a candidate.

Each nominee is judged on the quality of their leadership performance and/or the extent to which they have made a meaningful contribution to Metropolitan State University and/or the community. In order for the nominee to be adequately evaluated, the quality of the nomination itself may be a factor in the selection committee's decision. Therefore, please provide sufficient information in the nomination by answering the questions as completely as possible.

The selection committee consists of an appointed Alumni Association committee, the Association Board president and the Alumni Relations director. The committee forwards its recommendation to the Alumni Association Board for approval.

#### **Nomination rules:**

- Nominations for the Alumni of the Year 2018 must be submitted in writing by May 31, 2018.
- Nominations are accepted by mail, e-mail, fax or in person.
- E-mail nomination to <u>alumni.relations@metrostate.edu</u>, fax at 651-793-1825 or mail to Metropolitan State University, Attn: Alumni Relations Office, 700 East Seventh Street, Saint Paul, MN 55106-5000. The recipient will be honored at the Scholarship Celebration event in November and featured in the fall issue of *Buzz* magazine. If you have questions, call Alumni Relations Office at 651-793-1808.

#### Past Alumni of the Year Recipients:

```
2017: Latasha Powell ('12)
```

2016: Anthony Cox ('01)

2015: Mona Dohman ('98)

2014: Gary Cunningham ('91)

2013: Frank Grass ('85)

2012: Caroline Lowe ('02)

2010: Monte Bute ('91)

2009: Margaret Lovejoy ('90)

2008: Jesse Bethke Gomez ('87)

2007: Jim Lukaszewski ('74)

2006: Yusef Mgeni ('74)

2005: Victoria Reinhardt ('96, '99)

2004: Jean Hart ('79)

2003: Senator Sandra Pappas ('86)

2002: John Owens ('94)

2001: Bernice Sisson ('86)

2000: Segundo Velasquez ('92)

1999: Samuel Rock ('88)

2011 – 40th Anniversary Alumni Making a Difference (PDF)

1996 – 25th Anniversary Award:

Peter Bell ('76), Nancy Blanchard ('81), Julie DeCosse ('96), Cheryl Dickson ('76), Joanne Englund ('74), Brian Goodroad ('92), James Griffin ('74), Gloria Haines ('91), Clarence Harris ('74), Terri Hawthorne ('77), Ange Hwang ('92), John Laux ('90), Juan Lopez ('83), Clarice "Chris" Matteson ('76), Vince McGraw ('76), Yusef Mgeni ('74), Rosalia "Sally" Olsen ('73), Elsa Vega-Perez ('93), Victoria Reinhardt ('96, '99), Charlotte Samuelson ('77), Arvid Schwartz ('79), John Sipe ('91), Linda White-Anderson ('83) and Marcia Yugend ('90).

# Metropolitan State University Alumni Association Alumni of the Year 2018 Nomination Form

Nom	inee Information: Nominee's name:
	Phone:
	Mailing address:
	E-mail (if available):
Nom	inator Information: Your name:
	Phone:
	Mailing address:
	E-mail (if available):
	How long have you known the nominee?
	Relationship to nominee (such as advisor, professor, co-worker):
questi	e state why you think this person should be considered. Please answer the following ons.  ination Questions:
1.	Please describe specific contributions the nominee has made which have had a positive impact on the community and/or areas of specialty. This may include organizational, volunteer or employment contributions. If the alumnus/alumna is nominated for excellence in their profession, give specific examples of how the nominee has exceeded the expected duties of the position.
2.	Describe the nominee's leadership strengths, using specific examples of demonstration.
3.	Describe how the nominee has demonstrated ability to foster a diversity of perspectives

and experiences within the group(s) in which s/he participates.