Metropolitan State focuses on providing high-quality, accessible educational programs and services in a student-centered environment. The university provides more than 60 undergraduate programs and 12 masters and two doctoral programs, with the option to create individualized baccalaureate degrees.

Metropolitan State partners to learn in, from, and with the urban communities where we are located and demonstrates an unwavering commitment to civic engagement. Our faculty bring both practical and theoretical knowledge to their instruction. Students, faculty, staff, and community partnerships all reflect the area's rich diversity.

Metropolitan State is passionately and intensely focused on providing a transformative educational experience for all students, particularly post-traditional learners: older than average, part-time, incumbent workers, career-changers, often with substantial family obligations, and transfer students from community colleges.

The University is a catalyst for the region to attract, nurture, and retain the talent so critical to Minnesota business and industry. Metropolitan State University is central to the Minnesota State strategic priority to ensure access to an extraordinary education for all Minnesotans.

Founded in 1971, Metropolitan State University was envisioned as an institution without walls, serving the community where students worked and lived. Since that time, the university has expanded its physical footprint in four primary locations and more than 20 instructional sites while remaining true to the spirit of its founders.

A recent construction boom on its Saint Paul campus has added three new facilities: a student center, a multi-level parking ramp, and most importantly, a new Science Education Center that will allow for critical expansion of STEM programming in coming years.

Metropolitan State University is a member of the Minnesota State system. With 24 community and technical colleges and seven state universities, Minnesota State is the largest provider of higher education in the State of Minnesota.