Subject matter experts

Joe Alfano

Fixed-Term Assistant Professor
School of Urban Education
(651) 999-5920
joseph.alfano@metrostate.edu

  • Science education for elementary students

Rene Antrop-Gonzalez

Dean and Professor of Urban Education
School of Urban Education
(651) 999-5959
rene.antrop-gonzalez@metrostate.edu

Robert Boos

PR Coordinator
Marketing and Communications
(651) 793-1818
robert.boos@metrostate.edu

  • Journalism
  • Web management

James Byrne

Screenwriting Professor, School of Communication, Writing, and the Arts
(651) 999-5954
james.byrne@metrostate.edu

  • Screenwriting
  • Film directing
  • Film appreciation

Lawrence Copes

Community Faculty Member, Mathematics Education
School of Urban Education
(651) 357-6735
copes@edmath.org

  • Mathematics education toward intellectual and ethical development, including critical thinking and creative problem solving

Ramin Daghigh

Associate Professor Natural Sciences
College of Sciences
(651) 793-1447
ramin.daghigh@metrostate.edu

  • Theoretical physics
  • Black holes
  • Gravitational waves
  • Foundations of quantum mechanics.

Bruce Drewlow

Assistant Professor
School of Urban Education
(651) 999-5926
bruce.drewlow@metrostate.edu

  • Multicultural children's literature
  • Gifted and talented youth

Rosa Fagundes

Professor and Department Chair
School of Urban Education
(651) 999-5931
rosa.fagundes@metrostate.edu

  • English as a Second Language

Nicholas Hartlep

Associate Professor
School of Urban Education
(651) 999-5936
nicholas.hartlep@metrostate.edu

  • Early Childhood/Elementary Education Program Coordinator

Yun-Ting Hun

Assistant Professor
School of Urban Education
(651) 999-5835
yun-ting.hung@metrostate.edu

  • Elementary school literacy and reading

Faisal Kaleem

Associate Professor, College of Sciences
Executive Director, Information Technology and MN Cyber
(651) 793-1238
faisal.kaleem@metrostate.edu

  • Cybersecurity

Daryl Parks

Associate Professor of English Education
Department of Literature and Language, Urban Teacher Program
(651) 793-1465
daryl.parks@metrostate.edu

  • Urban literacy (reading/writing/speaking/media) education at the middle/high school level especially related to race social class language teaching/learning and curriculum

Tracey Pyscher

Assistant Professor
School of Urban Education
tracey.pyscher@metrostate.edu

  • Asset based approaches in working with youth with histories of domestic violence (HDV youth)
  • Literacy instruction: critical literacy disciplinary and digital learning and teaching 
  • Critical pedagogy
  • Culturally relevant pedagogies

Yvonne RB-Banks

Professor
School of Urban Education
(651) 999-5898
yvonne.rb-banks@metrostate.edu

  • Over-representation of African American males in special education
  • Addressing remediation and assessment of students of color teacher training using UDL and designing transition programs that support college success

Frank Schweigert

Dean, College of Community Studies and Public Affairs
(612) 659-7296
francis.schweigert@metrostate.edu

  • Nonprofit governance and management

Paul Spies

Professor
School of Urban Education
(651) 999-5929
paul.spies@metrostate.edu

  • Social studies education
  • Legislative efforts to increase teachers of color and American Indian teachers