Skip to main content

Faculty advisory committee (FAC)

Institute for Community Engagement and Scholarship Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC)

The Community Engagement Faculty Advisory Committee promotes community-engaged teaching, learning, research, and service within Metro State’s academic units, and serves as a mechanism to support and encourage interdisciplinary faculty collaboration to advance academic community engagement. The FAC members act individually and collectively to disseminate best practices, emphasize community engagement in the development of new curricula, refer faculty colleagues to appropriate resources, and to develop and promote policies and procedures through the IFO that advance the practice of community engaged teaching, learning, and scholarship.

Academic Year 2022–2023 priorities

  • Serve as community engagement champions within colleges to encourage, support, and advance engaged teaching, learning, and scholarship  
  • Provide updates to academic units on community engagement activity and communicate academic unit community engagement activity to the FAC  
  • Review Minnesota Campus Compact Presidents’ Award Nominations and make recommendations to President
  • Promote the Institute for Community Engagement and Scholarship's community-engaged scholarship grant RFP; review proposals and select awardees 
  • Examine ongoing impact of COVID-19 on community and civic engagement teaching and learning and recommend resources to support continued engagement  
  • Determine new forms of faculty recognition for community engaged teaching, learning, and scholarship   
  • Promote community engagement and Institute for Community Engagement and Scholarship resources within the university community  
  • Review applications for Community Engagement (CE) course designation  

2022–2023 Faculty Advisory Committee Members

College of Community Studies and Public Affairs 
Megan Brown

College of Individualized Studies 

College of Liberal Arts 
Danielle Hinrichs

College of Business and Management 

College of Nursing and Health Sciences 
Pat Schoon

College of Sciences 
Cindy Kaus

Library and Information Services 
Jennifer DeJonghe

School of Urban Education 

Community Faculty 

Members At Large 
Susan Hilal 
Maureen O'Dougherty

Institute for Community Engagement and Scholarship 
Greg Mellas