Skip to main content

Nominations Sought for the Minnesota State Board of Trustees Excellence in Service Award: Deadline Sept. 18

Posted August 29, 2023

On behalf of Minnesota State System Board of Trustees and the Metro State University Excellence in Service Award review committee:

The Minnesota State System Board of Trustees Professional Excellence in Service Award recognizes outstanding service to our state universities and to the Minnesota State System. The award recognizes the key role that MSUAASF service faculty fulfill at state universities. We invite you to nominate a MSUAASF employee who has contributed to the university community in exceptional ways.

The responsibilities of MSUAASF employees include student access and engagement functions in a variety of areas including academic advising, Gateway Student Services, the Career Center, admissions, international student services, Center for Accessibility Resources, TRIO, Student Life and Leadership Development, Financial Aid, Registrar, fundraising, Multicultural and American Indian Retention Services, Health and Wellness, and Testing Services.

Eligibility: Nominees must have been employed for a minimum of five consecutive years at a Minnesota State System university. Of these five years, the two most recent years must be in the MSUAASF member’s current position. The remaining three years must be either a) in any position (excluding student employment) within the university in which the individual is currently employed, or b) in any MSUAASF position at any Minnesota State university. The Institution Last Hire Date may be used to establish years of service.

Who can nominate: All Metro State University students, faculty, staff, and administration are encouraged to nominate MSUAASF members who are exceptional contributors to our students and university. Nominations are due by 4 p.m. on Monday, September 18.

Excellence in Service Award Nominations Committee: The Excellence in Service Award Committee is made up of bargaining unit representatives and a representative from administration. The members of the committee include Tonia Baxter (MSUAASF), Kara Branyon (MSUAASF), Kate Southwick (MSUAASF), Rick Kurtz (Dean CCSPA), and Jules Thompson (MMA). 

Timeline: Below is the timeline for the 2023 – 2024 Excellence in Service Award at Metro State University:  

  • Tuesday, September 5 – Notice sent to MSUAASF members and broader university community  
  • Monday, September 18 – Due date for nominations from university community 
  • Tuesday, October 24 – Nominations committee forwards campus nominee to President; by
  • Tuesday, November 1 – President designates campus nominee and notifies system office, submits recommendation packet electronically 

How to submit a nomination for the Excellence in Service Award: Please complete the nomination form and email the form no later than 4 p.m., Monday, September 18. Send to Kate Southwick at

Thank you for taking the time to nominate a deserving employee for this special recognition!