Skip to main content

 Fall registration is now open

Common Market Passport

The Common Market program allows a student who is already admitted at one institution to take courses at another without going through the admission process. The seven state universities participate in this program include:

  • Bemidji State University
  • Metropolitan State University
  • Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Minnesota State University, Moorhead
  • Southwest State University
  • St. Cloud State University
  • Winona State University

To qualify for the Common Market program students must:

  • Have at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA
  • Be an undergraduate student
  • Be classified as at least a sophomore

To take part in this program, you must

  • Complete a Common Market Passport form: the form asks for your name, the school you plan on attending, and the courses you plan to take there.
  • Obtain your advisor's approval and signature.
  • Return the form to the Office of the Registrar.
  • If you qualify, the form will be sent to the other school where you will be registered for the classes you requested.

Credits earned via Common Market are considered resident credits of the student's home university. You will pay the school you attend for your registration. If you are receiving Financial Aid, it will still be issued at your home school. You should make special arrangements to have it sent to you. Students are limited to taking courses on a Common Market basis for only two consecutive terms.